Tableau Customer Conference 2015

Every year I keep asking myself. Could the conference get any better? And it does. This year, 10 thousand customers and 1 thousand Tableau employees got together for the data event of the year.

I flew to Las Vegas two days before the first day of the conference as I was part of the backstage crew and a backup speaker. After two days of rehearsing on site at the MGM Grand Arena where Manny Pacquiao and Floyd Mayweather “took stage” a few months earlier, we were ready for the big day.

Backstage the day before
The calm before the storm

Of course two days is nothing compared to the overall time spent preparing for the keynote. Even though each speaker spends roughly 10 minutes on stage, a speaker and his/her backup spend at least 100 hours looking for interesting datasets, writing the demo scripts and rehearsing them. But it is definitely worth it. A conference of this scale and “data rock stars” attending it deserve no less.

Keynote backstage
Keynote backstage

Overall, my favorite part of the keynote demos was the visual analysis section which covered the support for embedding visualizations in tooltips and connecting to spatial data files (shape files etc.) among many other smaller improvements but the biggest feature in the keynote for me was data integration (cross-database joins and unions). Since my teams work on the advanced analytics features such as clustering and multivariate outlier detection, I was very happy to see the positive reaction from the audience.

Once in a while my Photoshop skills come in handy. In addition to working on the features and co-authoring the demo, I also designed the Tableau 2075 conference announcement image that concluded the analytics section of the keynote.

Tableau Conference 2075, Kepler 452-b

One of the most exciting parts of the conference for me is the opportunity to talk to lots of Tableau users face-to-face. This year with Tableau Community Appreciation Party, it got even better. I got to meet with lots of fellow Tableau users I see and interact with on the forums and bloggers whose work I enjoy.

Analytics roundtable was very helpful in hearing detailed reactions to keynote demos and what the needs were in other similar areas. Based on these discussions, I compiled a list of topics to cover here on the blog in the next few months and was convinced that I need to join this thing called Twitter.

Delivering my session “Understanding Level of Detail Expressions” (and hearing Joe Mako’s comments on the content afterwards), being part of Matt Francis and Emily Kund’s podcast were other highlights of the event for me.  And of course, meeting (and partying with) Tableau Zen Masters was the best way I could imagine to wrap up the event. I am already looking forward to next year’s conference!


Leave a Reply

